Craft Competition Frustration

So I decided to drive some engagement and followership to my craft blog/Facebook page and what did I do? Yeah you guessed right.

Did it work? Well, no for the first one and not really for the second one.

Was I frustrated? You bet I was. But then again, it was probably me not doing it right. Yeah, I wasn’t doing it right.

I did some reading on organising craft competitions after which I made some really good crochet crafts, one for a guy winner and the other for a girl. Just in case, I wanted to cover all bases. I can almost swear that these crafts were awesome but then again, I made them so my judgement might be biased. But just to be sure, this is a picture of them.

Crochet headband and pen holder

I thought to myself that since the prize was ready, the competition should start. So I  posted the picture on my page and wrote something that went like invite your friends to stand a chance in a lucky dip. You get the idea right? The invitee had to post on the page stating who invited him/her. Simple right? This post was shared everyday on my Facebook page with reminders of when the competition would end.

Don’t get me wrong, I got a winner it is just that the participation was poor.

What Did I Do Wrong?

Planning: I knew the time frame, rules to be followed and all. I probably didn’t structure it well.

Picture:  If I was to score myself, I won’t say 0/10 , it will be more like Are you nuts/10 or Reserved comment/10.

Promotion: Not good enough. I honestly didn’t do it well, it wasn’t consistent and am not sure it covered all the social platforms that I have accounts in plus it was not as repetitive as it should have been. You know, bombarding my followers with it so that any time they saw craftyOgo, they saw the competition. Not sure that is right though, it would have been too much.

Generally it  just wasn’t captivating .

Did I learn my lessons? Yup I did. My next craft competition will be way better than the first two. Hopefully.

On a lighter note, did you notice that my competition disaster has 3 Ps? I honestly didn’t plan it like that. Hehehe. The 3 Ps of Craft Competitions, sounds catchy.

So tell me good people, have you organised a competition before? How did it go? Any lessons/tips you want to share?

craftyOgos signature

About craftyOgo

I handmake unusual gifts with beads and yarn.
This entry was posted in Crafty Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment