How To Quickly Wrap A Christmas Present: A Short Tutorial

Sometimes I kid myself that I can wrap gifts, ‘after all, its just wrapping yeah, how hard can it be?’ Then the hard work begins, and the ‘why did I not just do this in the shop?’ question pops up in between. After some time I start asking for help and when I don’t find any, the ‘hope you don’t mind’ speech follows when presenting it.

So one lucky day, I saw some guy wrapping a gift and I watched keenly. It was not until I heard him say: ‘yeah that’s how, easy huh,’ that I realized I had said out loud: ‘so that is how it is done?’ Oh well, I tried it today, 3rd march, 2013, with some variations and I was  proud of myself. I was so proud that I decided to show how it is done, someone might benefit from it. It is so easy that I did it in less than five minutes. First time ever!!!

So Here It Goes.

Materials

  • Wrapping sheet.
  • Sellotape.
  • A pair of scissors.

Steps 

  • Wrap the gift vertically leaving both ends open like this  craftyOgos Vertical Wrap
  • or horizontally like this.  craftyOgos Horizontal Wrap
  • If wrapped vertically, make your accordion fold at either end or just one.craftyOgos Accordion Fold
  • If horizontal, accordion fold the remaining part.
  • Use a thin strip of sellotape to hold down the middle for both vertical and horizontal.
  • Pull both ends of the fold to meet at the middle and hold with sellotape.
  • This is it horizontally. craftyOgos Middle Fold
  • Vertical with folds on both ends. craftyOgos Both Ends Fold
  • Vertical with folds on one end. craftyOgos One End Fold
  • To close off the end  for this one above, fold in both ends to form a triangle like so.craftyOgos Bottom Fold
  • Fold in one of the triangles and sellotape the other above it like this.craftyOgos Triangle Folds
  • You could forget the second bit of sellotape and it would look like this.
    craftyOgos Middle Fold 2
  • You could also forget about sellotaping the middle and do it on the side like this one.craftyOgos One Side Fold
  • Or both ends.  craftyOgos Both Ends Fold

Voila! You just wrapped your gift.

Hope I have helped someone. 🙂

If you want a wonderful DIY gift idea, check  this post.

Ciao y’all.

Image

 

About craftyOgo

I handmake unusual gifts with beads and yarn.
This entry was posted in Crafty Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment